Humble Beginnings

2 Jun

Greetings to all fellow film enthusiasts and random people who find this blog. For those of you who stumbled upon my scrawlings under the presumption that I have some sort of credentials for doing this, I am sorry to disappoint you, but I have none besides an overwhelming attraction and appreciation of the world of cinema. For those of you who found this on accident and are probably making your way up to the green “back” arrow at the top left of your screen, thanks for stopping by and adding to my viewership. For those of you at work right now and sorry that cracked.com didn’t have more top 10 lists today, know that you are in good company because that is how this blog is possible for me. I really have no reason for doing this besides just that I love film and have many opinions that I enjoy sharing with as many people as possible.

This fascination with film probably started when I was young because I didn’t get to watch many movies growing up. Going to the movie theater was a huge deal when I was younger and it would have to be a monumental groundbreaking G or PG movie for my parents to drive the whole family the full 45 minutes to the theater, clawing at their legs to get us candy and popcorn, complaining that my brother is taunting me/sister is touching me, and randomly laughing at parts of the movie that are meant to be serious. Growing up, we lived out in the country in Maine and the nearest video rental establishment (Home Vision Video, I still remember thee fondly) was a half-hour away. All that to say is that when I got to watch a movie, I felt priveleged. That carried over into my teen years when we moved to the suburbs of Maryland (PG county!!) and started getting a bit more freedom. My life was changed forever when I saw Saving Private Ryan in the theater, my first R-Rated movie and still, in my opinion, one of the best films ever made. I was awestruck to see such raw emotion and innovative cinematography. Something about that film just moved me so deeply, but I couldn’t understand it completely either.

My parents, who I love very much (and hope that they read this blog still), were very conservative about the movies I got to see growing up. This is embarassing to say, although I look back on it and laugh now, but my Dad said he had to preview Shrek before I saw it in the theater (I was 16!!!). He has softened up a lot since then and my two younger sisters have benefitted from the rigorous system my brother and I were put through. We got to be the guinea pigs for all my parents’ rules. (I hope they still read this blog!)

Anyway, when I got to college I immediately just started watching as many movies as possible, which still wasn’t very many because I went to the Citadel, a military college. But, my fascination with film continued to grow, and I realized that I was no longer attracted to watching the big special effects spectacles that I couldn’t get enough of when I was younger. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind became the film where I realized what had happened to me when I watched Saving Private Ryan…I wanted to do that. I wanted to make movies or just be in any way possible involved with the industry. When I was younger I wanted to be an actor and even was in plays (two that are mentionable, one I wish I could forget, but that is a different story). But, now I realized that I didn’t want to be in front of the camera, but behind it, I wanted to share with people the ideas and concepts that I saw in movies like Saving Private Ryan and Eternal Sunshine.

Life being what it is, I was contracted to the military and still am. I am stuck blogging for the time being sharing with you, my readers, my random thoughts. I promise over the next several posts to talk more about some of my favorite films and films that had the greatest impact on me. Thanks for reading this far and for all of you who didn’t mean to read this, go grab your 13th beer from the fridge or continue to pretend that you are working at your desk.

Chris

One Response to “Humble Beginnings”

  1. Jeremy Petersen June 2, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    The unmentionable one is Rogers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella (sorry bro), a play I am convinced to this day was written on a bet (there is no way you can write this in a weekend and get Broadway to produce it!) as a way to raise money for the pair’s upcoming booze-fueled trip to the Bahamas.

Leave a Reply

