My Top 5 Most Quoted Movies and TV Shows

9 Jul

At family gatherings, my brother, his wife, and I are criticized for “talking in show”. We have watched so many movies and know so many quotes that it seems only the other two get, that it is hard to keep up with which movies or tv shows we are quoting. Plus, my Dad usually makes some sarcastic comment about how he wishes we had been able to quote literature or catechism as easily as we quote movies. There are movies and tv shows that we quote more often than others and below are two lists; one for movies and one for tv shows. While some other movies might have better/more deep and inspirational quotes, these are just the comedies that I end up quoting the most in everyday life.

Top 5 Most Quoted Movies

#5 Wedding Crashers

Quote Most Used in Real Life: “You shut your mouth when you’re talking to me!”

#4 Step Brothers

Quote Most Used in Real Life: “I don’t like your face and it’s not that you’re a bad guy or anything…it’s just your face. I-I don’t even hear what you’re saying right now. I don’t know what it is about your face, but every time I see it I just want to deliver one of thes (fist) right into your suck hole.  Again, you’re not a bad guy, but if you don’t fix your face, I’ll fix it for you.”

#3 Forgetting Sarah Marshall:

Quote Most Used in Everyday Life: “It’s a metaphor for a crap movie.”

#2 Just Friends

Quote Most Used in Everyday Life: “I’m going to start drinking….”

#1 Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

Quote Most Used in Everyday Life: “I immediately regret this decision!”

Top 5 Most Quoted TV Shows

#5 The Simpsons

Quote Most Used in Everyday Life: “Something was said! Not…good.”

#4 Family Guy

Quote Most Used in Everyday Life: “Who wants to play drink the beer?”

 #3 Scrubs (only because of Dr. Cox’s rants; early Scrubs Dr. Cox quotes)

Quote Most Used in Everyday Life: “That’s a great antecdote. You should write that down in your journal… so your kids can read about it when you’re dead.”

 #2 The Office

Quote Most Used in Everyday Life: “I hate so much about the things that you choose to be.”

#1 Arrested Development

Quote Most Used in Everyday Life:  Pretty much everything, but I probably use, “I don’t understand the question and I refuse to answer it,” the most.

Obviously, some of these quotes are not funny taken out of context and some are just funny to me, but regardless, these are the movies that I quote the most. I’d be interested in hearing some of your favorite quotable movies/tv shows in the comments.

7 Responses to “My Top 5 Most Quoted Movies and TV Shows”

  1. Brian Sostak July 9, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    Step Brothers: “Did we just become best friends?…Do you do karate in the garage?”

    Talladega Nights: “Well let me just quote the late-great Colonel Sanders, who said…’I’m too drunk to taste this chicken.'”

    The Sandlot: “She don’t know what she’s doing.” (borrowed from Cool Hand Luke).

    Snatch: “It’s not for me, it’s for me ma.”

    Friday: “I got mind control over Deebo. He be like ‘shut the f**k up.’ I be quiet. But when he leave, I be talking again.”

  2. Jeremy Petersen July 9, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    How could you leave out Just Friends?

    “Class of ’95!”

    • Chris Petersen July 10, 2010 at 7:15 am #

      That was going to be my quote for Just Friends and I struggled with it because while I use that quote excessively when I am around you and Julie, I use “I am going to start drinking….” more frequently when I am not around you guys. “Class of ’95!” is my favorite quote from that movie, but I use “I’m going to start drinking….” more frequently. (Insert “You’re such a drunkard” comment from Julie here).

      • Jeremy Petersen July 10, 2010 at 9:50 am #

        My bad–I missed it in your list for some reason. You definitely picked the better quote.

        “You keep livin’ the dream, Tim!”

  3. registry cleaner optimizer July 24, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Thanks for posting! I really enjoyed the report. I’ve already bookmark

    this article.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beat Alcoholism 101 - July 9, 2010

    My Top 5 Most Quoted Movies and TV Shows…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

