My Top 5 Anticipated Fall Movies

1 Sep

It’s September now and pretty soon it will start getting cooler and the popcorn movies will have gone stale. We are coming up on the Fall movie season, which promises a number of films trying to vie for Oscar contention. These are the films that I am most looking forward to this Fall (in order of release date).

#5 ” THE TOWN”/ Release Date: September 17th (Wide)

Starring: Ben Affleck, Jeremy Renner, Blake Lively, Jon Hamm

Directed by: Ben Affleck

Plot Summary from IMDB.com: “As he plans his next job, a longtime thief tries to balance his feelings for a bank manager connected to one of his earlier heists, as well as the FBI agent looking to bring him and his crew down.”

TRAILER:

This film is Ben Affleck’s sophmore directorial release, following his directorial debut of “Gone Baby Gone” in 2007. “Gone” did incredibly well with critics (scoring 94% on Rotten Tomatoes) as an artistic and character driven piece, featuring great performances from Casey Affleck and Amy Ryan. “The Town” promises to deliver a similar result, this time boasting the producers of “The Departed” and co-starring Jeremy Renner. The only thing that worries me is that Ben Affleck will be starring this time and I hope he can deliver as strong of a performance as his brother did in “Gone”.

#4 “BURIED“/ Release Date: October 8th, 2010 (Wide)

Starring: Ryan Reynolds

Directed by: Rodrigo Cortes

Plot Summary from IMDB: “Paul is a U.S. contractor working in Iraq. After an attack by a group of Iraqis he wakes to find he is buried alive inside a coffin. With only a lighter and a cell phone it’s a race against time to escape this claustrophobic death trap.”

TRAILER:

“Buried” premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in January to great critical reception and it definitely boasts a “less is more” premise. I am excited to see what Ryan Reynolds can do in a dramatic role, especially since he really is going to have to carry this whole movie. Based on early reviews, Reynolds, and the film as a whole, does not disappoint.

#3DUE DATE“/ Release Date: Nov 5, 2010 (Wide)

Starring: Robert Downey Jr., Zach Galifianakis

Directed by: Todd Phillips

Plot Summary from IMDB: “High-strung father-to-be Peter Highman is forced to hitch a ride with aspiring actor Ethan Tremblay on a road trip in order to make it to his child’s birth on time.”

TRAILER:

Todd Phillips follows up his success of “The Hangover” with another Zach Galifianakis collaboration. The odd couple road trip idea has been done before, but based on the previews it looks like Galifianakis and Downey Jr have great on-screen chemistry. Let’s hope that Phillips can get another streak of success going and not deliver another “School of Scoundrels” dud.

#2 “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I”/ Release Date: Nov 19, 2010 (Wide)

Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Ralph Fiennes, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson

Directed by: David Yates

Plot Summary from IMDB: “Voldemort’s power is growing stronger. He now has control over the Ministry of Magic and Hogwarts. Harry, Ron, and Hermione decide to finish Dumbledore’s work and find the rest of the Horcruxes to defeat the Dark Lord. But little hope remains for them, so everything they do must go as planned.”

TRAILER:

It’s the first part of the final installment of the Harry Potter series. Do I need to say more?

#1 “Black Swan”/ Release Date: Dec 1, 2010 (Wide)

Starring: Natalie Portman, Mila Kunis

Directed by: Darren Aronofsky

Plot Summary from IMDB: A thriller that hones in on the relationship between a veteran ballet dancer and a rival.

TRAILER:

Based on the plot summary I would have said, “Um, okay….”, but then I dug into the cast. Natalie Portman, great actress, who generally picks her movies very well. Mila Kunis, she is starting to come into her own after “That 70’s Show” and is great at playing someone who seems mentally unstable. Then came the kicker, the film is directed by the brilliant Darren Aronofsky (“Requiem for a Dream“, “Pi“, “The Wrestler“) and I immediately had to find the trailer and it looked beautiful. This film immediately became on of my most anticipated for this fall season.

HONORABLE MENTION:

#1 “Devil”/ Release Date: Sep 17, 2010 (Wide)

WHY IT DIDN’T MAKE THE FINAL CUT: Even with an intruiging preview I am still hesitant to get excited by something boasting, “From the mind of M. Night Shyamalan“. Still, he could make a comeback with this one and he is not directing it, which might work to his favor.

#2 “The Tempest”: Release Date: Dec 10, 2010 (Limited)

WHY IT DIDN’T MAKE THE CUT: Julie Taymor, a visually arresting director, has her fourth big screen release and her second based on a Shakespeare play. As an English major, I was thoroughly impressed with her depiction of Shakespeare’s play “Titus” and the creative wit she displayed. However, I am hesitant to get excited about it due to the fact that Prospero will become “Prospera” and many times she focuses too much on the visuals without constructing a solid story.

#3 “Paranormal Activity 2″/ Release Date: Oct 22, 2010 (Wide)

WHY IT DIDN’T MAKE THE CUT: “Paranormal Activity”, in my opinion, was one of the best horror films in recent history. I am afraid that the premise of home video technology and special effects will be overused, or be replaced by too much CGI. I am also worried that kind of how “Saw” spawned an excessive number of sequels, this will become a franchise like that as well.

Now that I have rambled about what I am looking forward to. What are you most looking forward to this fall?

7 Responses to “My Top 5 Anticipated Fall Movies”

  1. Megan L September 1, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Harry Potter? For serious?
    I’m so excited for Buried and Due Date! You just reminded me of so many movies I can’t wait to see!

    • Chris Petersen September 1, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      Yeah, I’m going to have to find someone to go see Harry Potter with since you will most likely not be joining me.
      There were a couple other movies I was looking at too that might be good, “The Company Men”, “Skyline”, and “MegaMind”.

  2. Brian Sostak September 1, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    That is the first I’ve seen of Buried, and I have to say that this brings to the screen my biggest fear so I don’t know how I’ll react seeing this movie, which intrigues me. All of your other movies I’m interested in seeing especially Black Swan and The Town. Other movies you overlooked, either intentionally or for some other reason:

    1. My Soul to Take (I think this will be the best horror movie this year)
    2. The American (this and the next you may consider still summer)
    3. Machete
    4. I’m Still Here (Hoax or not? directed by Casey Affleck)
    5. The Social Network (I have faith in this film)

    I was interested the first time I saw the Devil trailer, but I think this movie will be a huge disappointment. I think the weakest part of Shyamalan’s game is his writing (especially dialogue). This appears to be a dialogue and supsense driven movie that he wrote, and directed by a pair with only Quarantine to their name. I’m not expecting much.

    • Megan L September 1, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      I think Devil is going to end up being disappointing too, as much as I want it to end up being good. Oh well. I wanted to see My Soul to Take, but I was on the fence about whether it looks like it will be decent or not. And I definitely have to see I’m Still Here.

      • Chris Petersen September 1, 2010 at 11:00 am #

        Pac, I didn’t include The American because it is already out as of today. Plus, I saw the critcal reception is mixed, so that kind of was a disappointment. It is from Focus Features though and I do have a lot of faith in them.

        I am not that interested in I’m Still Here.

        My Soul to Take just looked a little bit too cheesy for me, but with Wes Craven it might be good.

        Machete looks like another gratuitously violent action film, which is cool and all, but I have seen enough of that type of stuff for now I think. I will see it and probably enjoy it, but I have had my fill for a bit.

        The Social Network….not interested.

  3. Mum September 3, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    At least you keep me informed about new movies coming out. I would have never known about some of these. The girls and I do like Ryan Reynolds. I think some people in our “fam” would see Harry Potter with you!

    • Chris Petersen September 4, 2010 at 8:37 am #

      Yeah, I may need to call on you all to go see Harry Potter with me. Jerome is usually my Harry Potter standby since Julie won’t go see it either and we are kind of in the same boat in that regard. Maybe it will be a family outing like we did with the first Harry Potter movie, although hopefully this one will be better than that one because the first Harry Potter movie was too cheesy for me.

Leave a Reply

