Another Michael Scott Replacement Rumor

2 Sep

So, for all of you that are following the major changes that will occur in “The Office” this season, there is another update about who will replace Steve Carell’s character, Michael Scott, as the regional manager of Dunder Mifflin at the end of season seven. According to the Hollywood Reporter, Paul Lieberstein, the producer of “The Office”, is saying that he wants Harvey Keitel to replace Steve Carell. Here is what he had to say:

” [Harvey Keitel] is probably the only guy who can do it, and he’s doing TV now…That’s what a very smart/eager man once called a ‘win-win-win.”

He then went on to say:

“”I haven’t started any talks with his people, but Harvey would do a great job—a very different energy,” Lieberstein says. “And we don’t want to bring in another Michael, having someone play a very similar character because we have such a high regard for Steve.”

World's Best Boss?

Well, Harvey Keitel would definitely bring a different energy to “The Office”, but, in my opinion, I don’t think that energy will work for the show to continue on for more than a season. I mean, Harvey Keitel is great, I mean who doesn’t love Mr. Wolf? But, if they are going to have a more serious boss, I think it will take away from a lot of the comedy of the show. Apparently, Paul Lieberstein is serious about getting Keitel to replace Carell and I don’t think it will work out well, but who knows, maybe Mr. Wolf will find a way to “fix things” again.

What are your thoughts?

2 Responses to “Another Michael Scott Replacement Rumor”

  1. Mum September 3, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    I do like Harvey Keitel, but I think it would add a more cynical spin to the show as a replacement for Steve Carrell’s dry, clueless personna.
    But you also know I never was a big fan of the office apart from John Krazinski.

  2. Chris Petersen September 4, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    Thanks for the comments, Mom. I do agree that Harvey Keitel would bring a more cynical spin and I am not sure how much you watch the show, but I don’t think that is where it needs to go. The Office has gotten much more serious than it used to be and I think it needs to return to the tone it had in the second and third seasons where it was a lot more playful.

Leave a Reply

