My 5 Favorite Moments from the 2010 Summer Movie Season

7 Sep

As the summer movie season came to an official close this past weekend, I wanted to take a moment to reflect on some of my favorite moments from this year. While it was ripe for bashing with its Sex and the City, Shrek, and Twilight sequels as well as being full of re-makes and other garbage, there were several times where I truly enjoyed myself and the movie-going experience. Here are my Top 5 Moments (that I have seen):

#5 “Toy Story 3“: Spanish Buzz.

#4 “The Other Guys“: Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Samuel L. Jackson jump off a roof for no apparent reason.

#3 “Piranha 3D“: The Massacre and Ving Rhames kicking butt with a boat motor.

#2 “Despicable Me“: The Minions. Always happy, unconditionally loyal and endlessly fun.

#1 “Inception”: The Rotating Hallway. Just awesome.

I wish I had gotten to see some more independent films this summer like “Cyrus” or “The Kids are All Right”, but I guess I will have to wait for the DVD. While I am sure there were other great moments that I am either forgetting, which means they might not have been that great, or I did not see, please feel free to share them in the comments.

Here are some honorable mention moments:

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World“: The Bass Battle

“Predators”: The opening scene where Adrien Brody is falling from the sky without explanation (a great opening to an otherwise lopsided film).

Leave a Reply

