Opening This Week (Oct 11 – 17, 2010)

13 Oct

This week boasts only two wide release films and a spattering of limited releases. From what I can see, this is probably one of the weakest weekends for wide releases that will come this Fall. While these films may not be entirely bad, I don’t see either of these being given anything special come awards season, especially Jackass.

RED (Oct 15, 2010) #1 Recommendation for this Weekend

Rating: PG-13

Starring: Bruce Willis, Helen Mirren, John Malkovich, Morgan Freeman

Director: Robert Schwentke

Plot Summary from IMDB: When his idyllic life is threatened by a high-tech assassin, former Black Ops agent Frank Moses reassembles his old team in a last ditch effort to survive.

Chris’ Take: I am sure this movie will be good and humorous and if I saw it, I am sure I would laugh, but I think this is almost just a little too trite for my tastes and that ultimately it will be forgotten in a week or so. Since there are only two wide releases this week, this is the one I would recommend, but it is not necessarily one I would rush out to see.

Jackass 3D (Oct 15, 2010) Monday Movie

Rating: R

Starring: Johnny Knoxville, Bam Margera, Steve-O, Jason Acuna

Summary from RT: Johnny Knoxville and his buddies are up to their daredevil comic antics again. And this time they’re coming at ya in 3D.

Chris’ Take: I don’t know what to say about this one. This will no doubt be another humorous outing by the cast of Jackass, but this looks to be the biggest waste of 3D that I have ever seen. At least the gang acknowledges that and they have no qualms about being just plain ridiculous and they are definitely out to just have fun. Critically I can’t recommend this over RED, so it gets the #1 film to avoid this week, but this will be the Monday movie next week and I just hope that I at least gets some of my money’s worth. The “high five” trick did look hilarious.

LIMITED RELEASES

Conviction (Oct 15, 2010)

I may be one of the few, but I can’t stand Hilary Swank. Maybe it is just her brand of acting, maybe it is her face, maybe it is the twang in her voice, but whatever it is I cringe when she comes on screen. Conviction is about a sister (Hilary Swank) whose brother (Sam Rockwell) is convicted of a crime that she thinks he didn’t commit and she devotes her life to becoming a lawyer to prove his innocence. Aside from Swank’s presence, this might be appealing, especially with Sam Rockwell co-starring and Tony Goldwyn directing. The early reviews have been mixed, but this might be worth a rental come DVD release.

Down Terrace (Oct 15, 2010)

This film sounds like something similar to Sidney Lumet’s Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead, except it centers around a father and son instead of two brothers. Father and son, Bill and Karl (played by real life father and son Bob and Robin Hill) are the centers of a crime family whose lifestyle is threatened when an estranged girlfriend show’s up claiming to be carrying Karl’s baby. I think this would be my recommendation for a limited release this week based on its strong early reviews and the intriguing plot line.

Let me know what movies you are going to see and why in the comments!

Leave a Reply

