M. Night Shyamalan’s Next Project…with Will Smith?

21 Oct

Several sources have recently reported that M. Night Shyamalan will be teaming up with Will Smith’s Overbrook production company to produce a super-secret sci-fi adventure starring…..Jaden Smith (what a surprise)!  This new Shyamalan journey will be entitled One Thousand A.E.  and is being penned by Gary Whitta, who wrote The Book of Eli.

Overbrook, whose management consists of Will and Jada Pinkett Smith and a few others, has had some success producing what seems like almost exclusively Smith family vehicles (which makes sense). However, they are branching out with 31 more projects in development.

That being said, I am a little bit skeptical about this film. Shyamalan’s success recently has been underwhelming, both in the box office and critically. Although, Devil, the first part of his Night Chronicles was much better than critics and bias movie-goers gave it credit. Even though I had my doubts about Shyamalan’s involvement, I went into it with an open mind and I thought Devil was very entertaining and a pretty good film overall. Anyway, Shyamalan had a new project that he was working on that boasted attachment from such star names as Bruce Willis, Bradley Cooper, and Gwyneth Paltrow that couldn’t find a buyer and was quietly shelved. Which begs the question about what was wrong with it? Was it just a bad script? Bad timing? Lack of funds? Or was it that due to the severe backlash in the media against Shyamalan’s work that he has been black balled? Yes, I might be taking it a bit too far, but I think there is some legitimacy to that thought.

Stick with me while I state my opinion about why I think this is a bad idea. Moving on to Jaden Smith, who recently had a lot of success in The Karate Kid, but I don’t think his acting skills are quite up to par where he can carry something like an entire sci-fi film. Will Smith is great, I like pretty much all of his films, and enjoy watching reruns of The Fresh Prince of Bel Air and I mean no disrespect to him, but I really don’t think his son can act and it seems like he is being forced on the industry because of his dad.

Jaden Smith looked even more robotic than Keanu Reeves in The Day the Earth Stood Still.

 

Possibly, Overbrook found a desperate director whose name could still carry some clout at the box office, although it has been significantly diminished, who has worked with terrible acting before, and got him to agree to the project. I am sure there is a better explanation for what happened, but that is just what it seems like right now. It looks like Smith wanted someone who was available to direct and get this project going as soon as possible.

Do you think Will Smith is trying to put his son out there too much? Do you think Shyamalan can recover some credibility with this project?

One Response to “M. Night Shyamalan’s Next Project…with Will Smith?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. World Wide News Flash - October 21, 2010

    M. Night Shyamalan?s Next Project?with Will Smith?…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

