***Trailer Time*** The Rite, Kill the Irishman, Pirates 4: On Stranger Tides

15 Dec

Brian Pac Sostak

Remember when you went to the theater 15 minutes early so you could see all the trailers?  Well we’re here to enable your procrastination and tardiness.  Typically, Chris is usually the one to create these posts because he is more on top of the trailer releases than I am.  However, I was able to watch a few new trailers this morning and felt compelled to both post them, and offer my two cents.

The Rite:

I saw the first trailer for this film in theaters, and while I found it to be interesting, it didnt’ particularly stand out to me as a must see film.  I don’t think after The Wolfman that I trust Anthony Hopkins’s in this genre, but the lack of billable stars from the rest of the cast is actually refreshing.  I really enjoy these type of films, religious suspense/horror has a lot of potential, and while the exorcism angle has been a little played out in cinema recently, I think this may be a fresh take on the subject.  This is the second released trailer for this film, and I find it more interesting than the one I saw in theaters.

Kill the Irishman

Before seeing this trailer, this was a film that I knew nothing about.  I do know a little about the story of Danny Greene and it is a very interesting one.  I’m excited to see this story get put onto screen and the first half of the trailer looks very good.  The second half seems to venture away from telling a compelling story and more into action but hopefully that was just to draw in a wider audience with the trailer.  I’m a little disappointed with the casting of all the Italian mobsters, as they appear to be the usual typecast irish mob actors, but Christopher Walken and Val Kilmer may balance that a little.  Also, Ray Stevenson (The Other Guys, Book of Eli, Punisher: War Zone) hasn’t had a role of this caliber before, but he looks great as Danny Greene.  I can’t wait to see this

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

By far the most marquee of these latest trailers, Pirates 4 chronicles Jack Sparrow as he looks for the fountain of youth, battling mermaids and Blackbeard.  Chris has talked about this film in previous posts, advising to approach with caution the second trilogy in the Pirates franchise.  I am a bit more optimistic about this film, they’ve cut some of the dead weight from the 2nd and 3rd films (Orlando Bloom & Keira Knightley) and are focusing more on Johnny Depp and other pirates.  However, the addition of Penelope Cruz appears to be a source of a romantic story line with Jack Sparrow, which I do not really want to see.  I will most likely see this film, I just haven’t decided whether it will be in theaters or not.

UPDATE

After creating this post, I stumbled across another new trailer this afternoon and felt that it needed to be included.  Fast Five is the fifth installment of the Fast and the Furious franchise and seems to reunite cast members and characters from the first four films including: Ludacris, Han, and Tyrese (not to mention the addition of The Rock) I enjoy this franchise as a guilty pleasure but have yet to see one of these films in theaters, I don’t expect that to change in 2011.

2 Responses to “***Trailer Time*** The Rite, Kill the Irishman, Pirates 4: On Stranger Tides”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ***Trailer Time*** The Rite, Kill the Irishman, Pirates 4: On Stranger Tides (via Chris Petersen’s Film Blog) | The Calculable - December 17, 2010

    […] ***Trailer Time*** The Rite, Kill the Irishman, Pirates 4: On Stranger Tides (via Chris Petersen’s Film Blog) Posted on 17 December, 2010 by Jarle Petterson Brian Pac Sostak Remember when you went to the theater 15 minutes early so you could see all the trailers?  Well we’re here to enable your procrastination and tardiness.  Typically, Chris is usually the one to create these posts because he is more on top of the trailer releases than I am.  However, I was able to watch a few new trailers this morning and felt compelled to both post them, and offer my two cents. The Rite: I saw the first trailer fo … Read More […]

  2. New to Blu Ray DVD the Last 2 Weeks (June 14, 2011 & June 21, 2011) « Chris and Pac Take on Hollywood - June 24, 2011

    […] Take: I was excited to see this film the first time I saw the trailer, and it head to the top of my Netflix […]

Leave a Reply

