Hey! It’s That Guy!: Mark Duplass

18 Jan

There have been a couple of great inventions in the film world since the Internet came into being. The first greatest invention: Netflix. The second greatest invention: IMDB.com. I use both of them frequently, often times together, and am known for enthusiastically exclaiming during a movie, “Hey! It’s that guy! He was in…uh…that movie with the guy who wore those pants and lived in a house. You know?”

If you can't think of anything, just say Law and Order. Chances are, every actor has been on that show at some point or another. It's like a rite of passage.

I had one of those moments on Saturday while I was watching the Noah Baumbach film Greenberg. During a short scene in the film, a familiar face appeared from one of the highlights of the fall TV season. It was Pete from The League, but what was his name? Using my Droid X IMDB app (it’s free!), I looked up his name: Mark Duplass

This Guy

Who is that? Besides the aforementioned, Pete from The League, he recently wrote and directed the popular 2010 indie film Cyrus, which attracted such talent as John C. Reilly and Jonah Hill. His first film was called Puffy Chair, which he wrote and directed with his brother, Jay. It garnered a few awards from the Bender Film Festival, the SXSW film festival, and a couple of nominations from the Independent Spirit Awards. His next film, Baghead,  another indie darling film from 2008, also another collaboration with his brother, received a 77% Tomato score on RottenTomatoes.com. Here are the trailers for Baghead and Puffy Chair:

Not only is he a successful director, but he has proven that he can be successful in front of the camera as well. Here is a clip from The League, he begins speaking at about the 0:07 mark (sorry I couldn’t find a much better clip):

He, and his brother, have been touted as some of the most promising filmmakers in the business right now. He is slated as an actor in two films in production right now and is currently directing a film that he wrote, Jeff Who Lives at Home, starring Jason Segel and Ed Helms. After that, he is involved in three more projects currently in development. So, look to see a lot more of him in the future.

If you want to know more, here is an article on his recent developments, courtesy of CinemaBlend.com:

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Mark-Duplass-Joins-The-Crowded-Welcome-To-People-Cast-22651.html#

3 Responses to “Hey! It’s That Guy!: Mark Duplass”

  1. Hannah January 19, 2011 at 1:46 am #

    I completely agree that these are two of the greatest innovations in entertainment. I couldn’t function without Netflix. And IMDB eases the nagging in my mind I feel when I recognize an actor by their face and not their name. My husband hates it, but I always end up running straight to the computer

    • Chris Petersen January 19, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      I got an app for it on my phone so I don’t even have to leave the couch, which is nice, because my fiance would complain as well about me getting up all the time to check. Once I see someone I recognize but can’t place, it’s all I can think about and I will miss out on key plot points while I rack my brain.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hey! It’s That Guy!: Mark Duplass (via Chris and Pac Take on Hollywood) | The Calculable - January 19, 2011

    […] Hey! It’s That Guy!: Mark Duplass (via Chris and Pac Take on Hollywood) Posted on 19 January, 2011 by Jarle Petterson There have been a couple of great inventions in the film world since the Internet came into being. The first greatest invention: Netflix. The second greatest invention: IMDB.com. I use both of them frequently, often times together, and am known for enthusiastically exclaiming during a movie, “Hey! It’s that guy! He was in…uh…that movie with the guy who wore those pants and lived in a house. You know?” … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

