News from the Rumor Mill: Upcoming Coen Brothers, Wes Anderson, and Seth MacFarlane projects

14 Dec

I’ve got a spattering of good news to start your Tuesday, and no it is not that Charlie Sheen will not be getting coked up to play a zombie in The Walking Dead.

He wouldn't have even needed make up.

No, my good friends, the rumor mill is churning out some confirmed projects from some of my favorite directors.

Coen Brothers Courting Colin Firth for Gambit Remake

The Coen Brothers are continuing their onslaught of remakes and adaptations with one that kind of makes sense. While I will go see True Grit and I am sure it will be good, I was opposed to someone trying to retread it in the first place. That is such an iconic performance by John Wayne that I didn’t want anything really taking away from that, even though Jeff Bridges would be the guy for that type of role.

Jeff Bridges: From The Dude to The Duke

However, Gambit, is a film I know little about, except that it starred Michael Caine as a cat burglar trying to steal a statue from a billionaire, so I am less opposed to its reconstruction, especially since Colin Firth is likely to star.

Colin Firth is one of the best actors right now, and is finally garnering some recognition for his performances in both A Single Man and the recent The King’s Speech. But, he also has comedic chops, which will serve him well for this film which is being touted as an “action-comedy”. I think its great to see such talent attached to the project and I look forward to its release, which is still a couple years away.

Owen Wilson Hints at Possible Cameo in new Wes Anderson Film

According to Indiewire.com, Owen Wilson will possibly appear in Wes Anderson’s upcoming film, Moon Rise Kingdom. When Wilson was questioned at the press junket for Little Fockers about his involvement in the film, he said, “I am not going to be a part of it.” Then, he kind of changed his tune and added, “Well, I am not going to be playing one of the main characters in it. I have read the script and it’s really funny. It’s really good.”

I really like Wes Anderson, but could he look more hipster?

The film will already star Bruce Willis, Edward Norton, Frances McDormand, and Tilda Swinton, as well as the predictable cameo by Bill Murray. The story revolves around two young lovers who fall in love and run away to live in New England.

I am glad that Anderson is returning to his directorial chair, besides the Stella Artois commercial, and I hope that Wilson will at least make an appearance. I mentioned in my last blog that Owen Wilson’s humor is kind of worn out right now, but I think in Anderson films, it just always works.

Seth MacFarlane Will Bring Some Star Power to the Big Screen with Ted

 

Seth MacFarlane, writer of several animated TV sitcoms (Family Guy, The Cleveland Show, and American Dad) will be making his jump to the big screen with a new film called Ted. EW.com said that this new comedy will likely star Mark Wahlberg who, as a young boy, wishes that his teddy bear could come to life, and it does, but it ends up staying with him into his adult life. Mila Kunis, who plays Meg on Family Guy, will play the girlfriend of Wahlberg, and Adam Scott (Party Down, Step Brothers), is attached to the project as well. Seth MacFarlane will provide the voice of Ted.

Seth MacFarlane is kind of hit or miss with his comedy, but I am interested to see how he does with a full length feature. I think the premise sounds pretty funny and the cast is pretty solid, especially Adam Scott, who will probably play a sardonic and sarcastic prick, which he is somehow best at.

What are your thoughts about these projects? Do they sound promising or disastrous?

Seth MacFarlane

        

Leave a comment