Chris’ Most Anticipated Films of 2011

6 Jan

2011 is here, and with that comes a slew of sequels, remakes, etc., but also the promise of some truly fantastic films. Unfortunately,  as I wrote this list, I realized that there are very few independent films on here for me to generate some buzz about. This list is comprised of films that I know of that are coming out this year and it is pretty scant so far. I have my reasons for each of them, most of them having to do with the directors, so if you all disagree with me, feel free to express your opinion in the comments.

10. Paul

Release Date: March 18, 2011

Starring: Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Seth Rogen, Jason Bateman

Director: Greg Mottola

Synopsis from IMDB: Two British comic-book geeks traveling across the U.S. encounter an alien outside Area 51.

Trailer:

Chris’ Take: It is good to see Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, one of the best comedic duos, back on screen together. Plus, you add Greg Mottola (Superbad) to the director’s chair and a dash of Jason Bateman playing a sardonic government agent and it looks like it will be comic gold.

9. The Rite

Release Date: 28 January, 2011

Starring: Anthony Hopkins

Director: Mikael Hafstrom

Synopsis from IMDB: An American priest travels to Italy to study at an exorcism school.

Trailer:

Chris’ Take: Yeah, I know, it looks like another exorcism movie.

But wait I thought....

But, with Anthony Hopkins playing a dual role as both teacher and possessed, I hope he can recover from his appearance in The Wolfman. I am really only looking forward to this to see what he can do as someone possessed by the Devil. My hope is that it will be an even more disturbing Hannibal Lecter-ish character, but that is aiming really high.

8. Sucker Punch

Release Date: 25 March, 2011

Starring: Emily Browning, Abbie Cornish, Jena Malone, Vanessa Hudgens

Director: Zack Snyder

Synopsis from IMDB: A young girl is institutionalized by her wicked stepfather. Retreating to an alternative reality as a coping strategy, she envisions a plan which will help her escape from the facility.

Trailer:

Chris’ Take: This was my first reaction to the trailer:

Whaaaat?

But then I let it settle a bit and came to the conclusion that Snyder is one of the most visually inventive directors out there and it looks like he will have a field day with this one. Since its source material is critically acclaimed, I am not that worried about the story either. I think this will be an exciting film to see in the theaters, but I will probably only need to see it once.

7. Water for Elephants

Release Date: 22 April, 2011

Starring: Robert Pattinson, Christoph Waltz, Reese Witherspoon

Director: Francis Lawrence

Synopsis from IMDB: A veterinary student abandons his studies after his parents are killed and joins a traveling circus as their vet.

Trailer:

Chris’ Take: I do not like Robert Pattinson, but I really like the other two starring actors. I also think this film will have visual flair and will be one of the more beautiful films of the year.

6. X-Men First Class

Release Date: 3 June, 2011

Starring: James McAvoy, Jennifer Lawrence, January Jones, Kevin Bacon

Director: Matthew Vaughn

Synopsis from IMDB: Before Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr took the names Professor X and Magneto, they were two young men discovering their powers for the first time. Before they were archenemies, they were closest of friends, working together, with other Mutants (some familiar, some new), to stop the greatest threat the world has ever known. In the process, a rift between them opened, which began the eternal war between Magneto’s Brotherhood and Professor X’s X-MEN.

Trailer:

No Official Trailer Available

Chris’ Take: I was completely disappointed with the last two X-Men films, but there is hope yet again for the franchise with Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass, Layer Cake) taking control of the director’s chair and Bryan Singer, the man who made the first two films some of the best superhero adaptations, producing. I think this film will return to some of the grit that made them so likable in the first place.

Oh yeah, and Kevin Bacon.

5. The Green Hornet

Release Date: 14 January, 2011

Starring: Seth Rogen, Jay Chou

Director: Michel Gondry

Synopsis from IMDB: Following the death of his father, Britt Reid, heir to his father’s large company, teams up with his late dad’s assistant Kato to become a masked crime fighting team.

Trailer:

Chris’ Take: When I first heard about this, I didn’t give it a second thought. Seth Rogen transports his vulgarity spewing every man character, whose charm is rapidly wearing out, into another vehicle. But, a little comment from Michel Gondry after Comic-Con got me thinking I might want to see this. Apparently, at Comic-Con the die hard Green Hornet fans didn’t think it stuck to the source material close enough and Michel Gondry essentially said that it was because he wanted to make a good movie. I have a lot of faith in Gondry, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is one of my all-time favorite films, so I hope he can inject his skill into a flimsy idea.

4. Sherlock Holmes II

Release Date: 16 December, 2011

Starring: Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law, Jared Harris

Director: Guy Ritchie

Synopsis from IMDB: Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson try to outwit their fiercest adversary, Dr. Moriarty.

Trailer:

No Official Trailer Available

Chris’ Take: The first installment was witty and the pace was perfect. I really enjoyed that it got past the cartoonish version of Holmes and spent some times showing some flaws. Guy Ritchie is a great director for this as well and while I am disappointed that Daniel Day-Lewis won’t be playing Moriarty, I am interested to see what Mad Men’s Jared Harris does with the role.

3. The Muppets

Release Date: 23 November, 2011

Starring: The Muppets, Jason Segel, Amy Adams

Director: James Bobin

Synopsis from IMDB: Kermit the Frog and his Muppet pals put on a show to save their theater.

Trailer:

No Official Trailer Available

Chris’ Take: I grew up with the Muppets and one of the few Christmas movies that I can struggle through is A Muppet’s Christmas Carol. I am glad to see someone like Segel taking this over, since he has a great respect and love for The Muppets, as witnessed in this clip from Forgetting Sarah Marshall.

James Bobin is a great pick to direct as well and he is teaming up with Bret McKenzie from Flight of the Conchords to make the music, which should be a good combination as well. There have been a lot of rumored cameos as well. Here are just some of the names that might be attached to the project: Emily Blunt, Jane Lynch, Jack Black, Ed Helms, John Krasinski, Jean-Claude Van Damme, Mickey Rooney, Billy Crystal, and Lady Gaga.

2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2

Release Date: 15 July, 2011

Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint, Ralph Fiennes

Director: David Yates

Synopsis from IMDB: The end begins as Harry, Ron, and Hermione go back to Hogwarts to find and destroy Voldemorts final horcruxes, but when Voldemort finds out about their mission, the biggest battle begins and life as they know it will never be the same again.

Trailer:

Chris’ Take: I almost fell asleep during that last one, but I am sure this one will keep me awake as the series comes to an end. There really isn’t much to say about this that most of you don’t already know, except for why this isn’t #1.

1. The Tree of Life

Release Date: 27 May, 2011

Starring: Brad Pitt, Sean Penn, Jessica Chastain, Fiona Shaw

Director: Terrence Malick

Synopsis from IMDB: The story centers around a family with three boys in the 1950s. The eldest son witnesses the loss of innocence.

Trailer:

Chris’ Take: I don’t think I have ever seen a trailer as breathtaking and captivating as that was. Based on that alone this is my most anticipated film of the year. I just hope the emotions captured in the preview can be stretched out for the duration of the film.

Some of you might notice a distinct lack of some superhero films on here, which based on the rumors flying around the web, you might think I would put on here. While I do look forward to seeing some of them, namely Green Lantern and Captain America, I think that the Marvel films will be more of a bridge to the Avengers project and will lack focus and direction. I hope I am wrong since I am a sucker for superhero films, but I can’t say that I expect much from them.

Because this is all they expect from me.

What are some of your most anticipated films of the year? Share them in the comments.

5 Responses to “Chris’ Most Anticipated Films of 2011”

  1. ethan July 8, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    can somebody please tell me “DAM 999 3D” and “MI-4” RELEASE dates ??

    • Chris Petersen July 8, 2011 at 8:31 am #

      DAM 999 comes out on 20 Sep 11 and MI-4 is 16 Dec 11.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chris’ Most Anticipated Films of 2011 (via Chris Petersen’s Film Blog) | The Calculable - January 7, 2011

    […] Chris’ Most Anticipated Films of 2011 (via Chris Petersen’s Film Blog) Posted on 7 January, 2011 by Jarle Petterson 2011 is here, and with that comes a slew of sequels, remakes, etc., but also the promise of some truly fantastic films. Unfortunately,  as I wrote this list, I realized that there are very few independent films on here for me to generate some buzz about. This list is comprised of films that I know of that are coming out this year and it is pretty scant so far. I have my reasons for each of them, most of them having to do with the directors, so if … Read More […]

  2. TAKE TWO: The Green Hornet (2011) « Chris and Pac Take on Hollywood - January 21, 2011

    […] Take: Well, my most anticipated films of 2011 did not get off to a very auspicious start. As some of you know, The Green Hornet ranked #5 on my […]

  3. Opening This Week (24 – 30 Jan, 2011) « Chris and Pac Take on Hollywood - January 24, 2011

    […] week gives me another chance to see one of my 10 Most Anticipated Films of the Year, with the opening of The Rite. The Green Hornet was a disappointment, so hopefully this film will […]

Leave a comment