Weekend Film Recommendation: “The Ghost Writer” (2010)

4 Sep

It has been a while since I have done one of these, but my recommendation for this weekend is “The Ghost Writer“. It is a political thriller starring Ewan McGregor, Pierce Brosnan, and Olivia Williams and is directed by Roman Polanski. The film revolves around a ghostwriter (McGregor), who is hired to shadow former Adam Lang (Brosnan), the former British Prime Minister, and assist in writing his memoirs. While he is reasearching, he starts uncovering secrets that put his life in jeopardy.

This is a very taut thriller that takes a little while to pick up, but once it does, it keeps you guessing until the end.

4 Responses to “Weekend Film Recommendation: “The Ghost Writer” (2010)”

  1. Brian Sostak September 8, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    I watched this yesterday based off of your recommendation and I really enjoyed it. Polanski sure does know how to polarize an audience with his endings. What are your thoughts on the last scene?

    SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT

    Was The Ghost killed by a hit ordered from Ruth, if so was it as a result of him sharing that he knew their secret or was it already set in motion anyway. Or was it just an incidental event?

    I wonder if Polanski ends his movies this way, dooming the protagonist, because of the real life events of his life and are kind of like a sympathy plea to his audience…

    • Chris Petersen September 8, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

      SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!
      I don’t know, Pac, I think it was set up, but ordered after he shared what he knew. That’s just my opinion, though. Although, it did happen awful soon after he left the building. I don’t know, I might have to watch it again at some point.
      Good flick and I’m glad you took my recommendation.

    • Megan L September 9, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      SPOILER ALERT
      I think it was an ordered hit that was already set in motion because they could sense he was putting the pieces together. The car was driving very fast and it appeared deliberate.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pac’s Best/Worst Films of 2010 « Chris Petersen's Film Blog - January 5, 2011

    […] news, reviews, and opinions for influencing me to see this movie.  It if it weren’t for a weekend film recommendation on this very site, I may never have seen The Ghost Writer, but I’m sure glad I listen to […]

Leave a comment